Procrastinating?

Once in a while, a bit of wisdom flashes across my tired brain cells and I feel compelled to share:

Procrastinating is a verb. That means I am doing something, right?

illustration

Who says procrastination means doing nothing? Procrastinate is a verb.

“Procrastinating” is the verb of the day. I should say, “was”. I procrastinated for about four hours. I checked all my email accounts, facebook, looked through my pics, ate bad food, did all the things necessary in putting off what I should be doing. What I should have been doing had nothing to do with art, btw. I should have been making two phone calls.

I finally got tired of clicking and noshing and decided to call the insurance company and the provider’s offices. Did I mention I don’t like making phone calls to offices? The first call greeted my ears with something that sounded like someone was strangling a bird. My apologies to other sensitive, visual thinkers. The second call had not only a call menu, but a few sub-menus. Yes, I said sub-menus. These are the reasons why I was procrastinating in the first place. This always happens when I call these people.

One thing I don’t procrastinate on is art. In fact art has become one of the things I do to procrastinate. It’s a way of producing something so I won’t feel so guilty for procrastinating.

Lately, I’ve been working on illustrations for a local author’s book. This is a first for me. I’ve made several attempts to fit this guy’s descriptions. I finally did a really good drawing and I’m waiting for him to get back to me. Despite a family crisis and not feeling well, along with the holidays happening, I’ve been able to produce several drawings. This is one of my failed attempts. Have a good day!

2 thoughts on “Procrastinating?

Comments are closed.