Visual Art: poetry without words and rhymes

Visual art is like poetry without the words and rhymes. Taking a look at my crazy drawings, I wonder what most people think I’m actually saying. I’ve said that doing these things helps me to relax, or to process my thoughts, to live with chronic pain. I haven’t been working on drawings this week. Instead, I’ve been editing photos I took over the summer.

I  want to share a poem with you, written by a friend, Linda Hatton. She runs Mouse Tales Press, where you may find some of my written works in the archives. Here’s a poem from her blog, The Whatnot shop:

Bitter Memory Potion

 

Take a spoonful

of memory, hold
your nose, swallow
without a gag, wash
it away with gob-
let of tears, swish
around aftermath
of releasing clutches
the holds have on you,
sweeten future with a dash
of foggy morning, running
shoes stumbling on
their way to fresh bitter-
sweets, swallowing
it all away to empty.

  –by Linda Hatton

Do you see what I mean? Words, written into poetry, create images and take our minds to places we’ve all been, on some level. Though, not everyone is able to so wonderfully describe how they feel. That’s where visual art takes its place, for some. They create things for others to see–little parts of themselves, splattered onto canvas, or taking some other form.

We all interpret the things that happen through our own eyes. All our previous experiences affect how we deal with what is happening, now.  Nobody else completely understands us or our experience with the difficult things of life, though they’ve been through similar things.

All forms of art help people process where they’re at, where they’ve been. I don’t think art would be as exciting , if there were no hardships in life.

What you just read were my deepest thoughts at 4:30 a.m.  😀 😀 😀

If you’d like to see more of Linda Hatton’s poetry, please visit her at Mouse Tales Press, at mousetalespress.com , or at The Whatnot Shop, at http://whatnotshop.blogspot.com

 

 

 

 

