Cheese Doodled

They say the best way to have the upper hand with your enemy is to know them. What if that enemy only exists in your thoughts? I could write a little description of the inner critic, make up some list of their tactics, tell you how to avoid them.. I’ve decided against doing that.

I pondered this whole subject of the inner critic for a while. I thought maybe I had an entire legion of them. I thought they ran around my brain, masquerading as everyone who ever hurt me, saying all the nasty things every bully ever said to me, stopping me from doing the things I want to do and the things I need to do. I thought they made excuses for me and helped me conjure up reasons why I can’t do some things.

Psychologists, life coaches, and writers have made lots of money off of those who think the inner critic exists. I’m an artist. That means I challenge traditional thought. Today I’ve decided to challenge the idea that an inner critic actually exists. As long as I think I’ve got an inner critic challenging my creativity, I don’t have to produce art.

I can’t sit around and eat cheese doodles, waiting until this figment of my imagination, this so-called inner critic, goes away. I’ve just got to stop believing in her. Cheese doodles only serve to give us orange lips and fat on our hips.

Image

6 thoughts on “Cheese Doodled

  1. Oh I can relate. The inner critic is a real problem child, a hinderance, a prison warden. But ‘you can’t please all the people all the time’ and that goes for that inner critic as well. Art is therapeutic for me, I don’t really think of myself as an artist – I have yet to master a technique, I don’t have the patience to learn art theory – but I love what you wrote – you challenge traditional thought.

    Anyway – love the painting, it’s vibrant it projects an innocence. reminds me of a carefree child who has yet to be controlled by the inner critic.

    • There are a lot of techniques I need to master. I think the more artwork we do, the more confidence we have. Thanks for the comment on my artwork! Art is therapeutic for me, too. I don’t know what I’d do if I couldn’t use my hands.

  2. It is hard to battle that inner demon – even more so when sales are down, time to paint hard to come by, responses from the people around you are wishy-washy and even the weather is fickle. BUT! we persist because we also have an inner angel. And the cheese doodles? Well, I use ice cream or cheesies. lol!!

    • So true, Val! I think we have to truly believe that we have good in us, tell ourselves we’re creative and productive, even if we don’t see evidence of that. Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.